The First Step

Today I start a blog, which I hope will someday lead to a series of books highlighting the great houses (plantation houses) of Jamaica.

Although the focus will be on the great houses, I will also be on the hunt for other structures built during the sixteenth, seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries of colonial Jamaica. The owners of the plantations built the great houses, on the backs of slaves, which resulted in massive wealth to the owners.

I hope to document not only great houses that the owners have lovingly maintained in almost pristine condition but also to visit sites of great house ruins. It ought to be a great adventure. It will not be easy, because the many great houses are tucked up and down isolated valleys with very little information about their location. I will have to track down their locations by asking local people if they know of a great house in their neighborhood. The internet will help in finding the plantation houses built by the most famous or infamous landowners but there are hundreds of plantations that were never huge or produced vast wealth for the owners. The internet has helped me in identifying the most likely parishes with a plethora of great houses.

That said, I plan to start my search in Saint Ann Parish, where I have located sixteen great houses using the internet.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Dr. Raul A. Mosley

Raul is the founder of the Fort Worth Portrait Project (FWPP). He holds a Ph.D. in Public Affairs & Issues Management from Purdue University. After teaching for 16 years as a university faculty member at both Purdue and Indiana University, Raul moved to Fort Worth and founded the FWPP in 2014.

5 responses to “The First Step”

  1. SaBiscuit says :

    Fantastic hobby, and I hope you’ve had lots of fun finding the others.

    Like

  2. Brenda Arnett says :

    It’s of interest to read about these great houses and families. My family home was Acton near Perth Town in Trelawny, now in ruins, I would love to know its history. Gravesend was another great house in walking distance through the woods from Acton.

    Like

    • mwmosley68 says :

      Brenda,
      I do ruins also as you can see on my blog. Acton was established by Joel Saville Acton and located just south of Perth Town, on the
      north side of the road to Duanvale. The Jamaica Almanac of 1840 lists the acreage as 468 and the owner as Anne Montague.
      If you are interested in the great houses, join on my blog and you will get posts as I post them. I will keep Acton and Gravesend on my radar.

      Michael

      Like

Leave a Reply

